The Big Story

14 Jun

I guess first I should be apologizing for how quiet/non-existant this blog has been as of late. As I had feared earlier, the addition of my new summer job (as a barista for Water St. Coffee Joint) has thrown me for a loop as I’m trying to re-adjust to my new wonky schedule.

Having said that, for those of you who know me in real life, you’re probably not here to read about that and I have no reason to apologize.

No, this week I have much bigger news. Today is my 27th birthday and to celebrate this, my boyfriend of almost four years and I went to spend a couple of days in Chicago and, while there, we got engaged.

(Insert happy squee noises here!)

My goofy immediate post-proposal smile and obligatory “he put a ring on it” picture!

Since our excited facebook posts I have been flooded with requests to hear the “story” and, as a writer, I simply cannot refuse 🙂

I guess the real story begins before this weekend. Not that long ago, I inherited some jewelry and had decided to trade it in at a local jewelry store to see if I could get something I would actually wear. Obviously, this sparked a conversation that Daniel and I had already been having on and off for the past year.

Do we get engaged? Are we ready?

And when we decided we were (and believe me, I was beyond ecstatic) Daniel and I went and picked out a ring that lived up to all of my little girl expectations of what an engagement ring should be.

(I suppose that I should mention here that while I never fantasized about my future wedding growing up, I have had a picture of a solitaire diamond ring dancing in my head… and Daniel made sure that we picked out a dream-ring that I would love for the rest of my life.)

A week later when we went to pick up the ring, Daniel smiled at me in the way that only he can and said “You want it now? Let’s just be engaged now!” But I put my foot down and said I wanted an engagement that would have a story (like this) and we planned a weekend in Chicago for my birthday that would create a memory worth telling people over and over again.

So, on Sunday we hit the road bound for Chicago. I think this was the first vacation Daniel and I had planned in a long time that was just about the two of us having a fun time, no stress, just doing what we felt like doing.

We started out with a day at the Museum of Science and Industry, because we love museums, and I have to admit that between giggling in awe at the Tesla coil’s lightning and oohing at aahing at the forty foot spiraling mist cloud they housed, I nervously eyed Daniel’s pocket.

But after thoroughly tiring ourselves on all the museum had to offer, we went to get some lunch/dinner at a restaurant I had seen Anthony Bourdain eat at on TV, The Silver Palm.

For those of you not familiar with the place, it’s inside an old train car and is decorated with christmas lights and old pin-ups and felt delightfully eccentric and intimate and just so us that Daniel pulled out the ring and set it on the table and, after a few moments of letting me stare giddily at him and the box, he officially asked me to marry him.

Now, this may seem anti-climactic to some, but for us it capped off a day of happy with more happy and left us quietly giddy as we spent the rest of the next day and a half taking in the sights of Chicago and just enjoying who we are as a couple, and who we will be as we plan the rest of our lives together.

It didn’t hurt that as we feel so at home in the city and that we were constantly being up-dated over our phones with well-wishes and excitement from all of our friends.

And so our engagement has been everything I wanted it to be: a new committment of our love to each other, albeit slightly unconventional, and a reminder that we are surrounded by people who love us and are almost as happy as we are that we have found each other.

So I look forward to planning our wedding in the same way. A day where we can be happy and celebrate just how lucky and loved we are, loved by each other and all of you fabulous others who support and love us, and wish us nothing but the best.

We are just so very lucky 🙂

5 Responses to “The Big Story”

  1. Mariella June 14, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I wish for everyone I love to find something as special as the two of you have found in each other. May the rest of your life together be as blessed as the past has been for you.

  2. Bethlynn June 14, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    You two ROCK! Hugs and big ones at that,
    BLynn

  3. Nikki June 14, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    I could not be more excited for you both! Congratulations on the love that you’ve found in each other and this next step in your journey together! I love you!

    And, thank you for sharing the story so quickly!

  4. Laura Poff June 15, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Woo! Christmas lights! I really thought it was going to be at the Tesla coil when you started describing it. Either way, pretty lights are a great symbol for the occasion, I think. And TRAINS, since it was a train that got you out of all that trouble last month. PERFECT!

  5. theshowerhead June 18, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Beautiful story Shana 🙂 I’m so happy for the both of you!

Leave a Reply

