The Happy One

7 Apr

This post is going to be personal (and way more cheesy than I like to be) but I hope you’ll bear with me.

And because I love this song (and video), let’s start here…

My Dad is coming in town for what will be, in my opinion, my first real professional reading. Actually, it’s my MFA graduation reading. In my mind, however, it’s my poet-debutante-coming-out event.

So today, I’m reveling in happy. I’m shelving the anxiety and the worry and the stress for a couple of days.

People I love and whose opinion I value are telling me they’re proud of me. And that should be enough, and it is enough.

And I’m asking you to spread the feelings of love and happiness.

Yesterday, I let myself be negative because I read an essay/post by someone who spewed negativity.

And today, I prepared to write a response to an article called “Marriage as a Master Mind,” where blogging couple Brett and Kate McKay discuss the idea that

when two or more minds came together with positive energy, a definite aim, and complete harmony, a “third mind,” was formed. All the participants in the Master Mind have access to this third mind which helps the individuals in the group form new ideas and receive inspiration. Thus Master Minds meet with the goal of mutual improvement.

He’s speaking toward an ideal touted by “success guru Napoleon Hill,” but all I could think of was this: what if we all spent our lives encouraging each other and everyone around us with positive energy? What if we all took today to encourage those around us  (friends, family, and even strangers) to achieve their goals.

A couple of days ago I was having a really bad day. But at two different points in the day, complete strangers made a point to tell me to smile.

Now, I was in a bad mood and stubbornly stayed pouty, because that’s who I am, but I can’t say that I didn’t appreciate the sentiment or that I still don’t.

I may not be an optimist everyday when I get out of bed, and I’m not sure I’ll make it to the end of today still flying this kite of optimism either. However, when there is positivity to be shared, why not share it?

So today, for me, for yourself, spread a little love. Maybe we can be communities of “Master Minds.” When we’re all supporting each others goals, anything is possible.

2 Responses to “The Happy One”

  1. Poff April 7, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Yay! I had never watched that video and it’s awesome! And yay for positivity! I’m excited to hear about how your reading goes! I’m sure it will be great!

  2. Riki April 15, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    I try to make a point to tell at least one stranger, whether it is someone I pass on the street, in the grocery store, or at a restaurant, that I like their shirt, necklace, shoes, etc… it just makes someone smile, and it makes me feel good because I get to talk to someone new, even for a brief moment. Usually, I strike up a brief conversation about where they bought said item, or maybe a special story about the item. I have not once gotten a negative reaction to being nice to a stranger!

Leave a Reply

