Things I Found This Week:

1 Apr

Welcome to the weekly post where I put up all the small stuff that didn’t need a whole post’s worth of discussion but is still cool and worth looking at.

Hey, if you think it needs more discussion, you’ve learned this week that I take requests! So let me know what you think!

  1. Researchers at someplace called “Guelph University” have finally tested what foods make you horny or improve “sexual function!” How exciting… and saffron is one of them. See the rest here.
  2. The census has led to the creation of these images that show the spread of hispanic and black populations across the U.S. In addition to making Arizona’s mission to get rid of brown people seem even more obviously ridiculous and just plain stupid, this post has some of the most intelligent conversation going on in the commments, (about the difference in the use of the word “hispanic” versus “latino”) that I’ve seen in awhile.

  3. This video went viral this week and I have to say, I’m pretty happy about it. Not only is this guy a great singing/performing talent, he knows how to edit the crap out of a Youtube video. Hey, what can I say? I respect quality.
  4. This is from fabulous web-comic Octopus Pie, which you can find: here. But also worth looking at is this Newsarama interview with the creator, Meredith Gran. It’s the closest I’ve seen to craft-level discussion about web-comics (or comics in general) in a long time, and she has some simple but interesting things to say.
  5. This is part of a series of ads from MTV Switzerland that promote condom use by showing that “Sex Is Not Accident.” Go here to see a few more. And what do you think? Are these too close to being rape jokes or sexist? Or do they succeed at making a funny point? I’m not sure yet myself…
  6. This comes from this blog that is celebrating the 20th anniversary of Edward Scissorhands by having contemporary artists send in pieces in response to the classic Burton film. My favorites so far include this ghostly one by Ludovic “Luché” Chesnot

    And this Steampunk-y one by artist, Roberto Ricci,

    Once again, go HERE to check the rest out!

 

That’s it for today! Have a great weekend everyone!

2 Responses to “Things I Found This Week:”

  1. Poff April 1, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    The MTV adds did not make me think about rape at all. Accidentally having sex (from both parties) implies a very different thing to me than rape does. I’m also not sure how they would come across as being sexist, please explain. I actually like the adds for what they are. I think they are pretty clever.

    • redshana April 2, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      First, let me say, I like the ads too. I think they’re funny and make a good overall point about sex and preparedness.

      However, the sexist/rape stuff I think comes from people who see the woman as being surprised by sex as being a softened image of rape. Also, there was some discussion on other sites on how the girl is always blonde/bimbo-y… In these situations, it’s hard. Because I’m not a rape-victim, I can’t imagine what it would be like and whether or not I would see these images as triggering or anything like that.

      It’s a hard discussion to have, you know?

Leave a Reply

