NSFW Weekends: Domestic Discipline (Guest Post by Daniel Harper)

27 Mar

Now, I’ve mentioned Daniel in passing a few times before. (I live with him after all!) And he is often responsible for helping me find unique things for these NSFW Weekends posts.

However, this time around, the e-mail he sent me was like a pre-packaged post. So I figured, why not have the first ever guest post be from him? And have it be on this topic.

So here’s what Daniel had to say:

So I ran across this post on Erosblog:

Which includes quite a funny video. It’s an Australian TV host who visits an American Christan couple who practice “domestic discipline”β€” essentially, the head of household (the man) “punishes” the wife for infractions. This is all done completely seriously and without a hint of kink, but clearly there’s something there.

Because I googled “Christian Domestic Discipline” and the first result was this:


They have a “stories” subheading. Described thus: “Some of our fiction is explicitly “Christian.” Other stories, while maintaining our core values, are not. Stories are clearly marked one way or another. None of our stories contains premarital sex, four letter words or cursing, or any explicit sexual descriptions. However, our books do deal with issues of interest to married women, and are not intended for minors.”

Clicking on the first of their free stories:


Contains no sexual content, no hint of kink, but read it and tell me there’s not a horribly repressed sexual subculture there. Here’s [another] juicy except:

He picked up the wooden spoon and began administering the punishment he thought fitting. Since he’d never done anything like this before, he gave her all 30 in a row with no break. At first she gasped at the unexpected pain, then just concentrated on not moving away from the source of that pain. Instinct told her to move and move fast, to get away from that spoon. But her love and need for him and his discipline had her fighting that instinct tooth and nail. She won the fight and stayed still the whole 30 swats. She started to get up when he stopped, but he held her on his lap another moment.

“Not just yet, little lady,” he instructed. “That was for not doing the job. This is going to be for breaking the promise. A promise is a very important thing, and I don’t want it taken lightly in this house. If you are going to have to miss on your duty, I guess you’d better let me know beforehand. I know there may be some days where you can’t get to it for some reason, but you’d best let me know about it so that it doesn’t feel like you’re just disregarding my wishes. Okay?”

She acknowledged her understanding with an “okay” that did not sound right to him for some reason . He decided quickly that he liked her earlier, “sir” and wanted to hear it again. “What was that?” he asked her.

“I said, okay,” she answered, not understanding his implication at all.

“And I want to hear how a lady answers her husband while she’s being disciplined,” he warned her softly.

“Oh! Uh, I uh…..I mean, yes, sir,” she fumbled for a reply that would show her respectful frame of mind.”

 

And now some of my in-put: There’s not anyone I know who wouldn’t easily identify this Domination and Submission based erotica. This sub-set of Christians, who also happen to be into alternative lifestyles, seems to give proof to the fact that many of our own taboo no-nos are more popular than commonly believed.

The real question here, for me, is how the role of Christianity plays into the dynamic.

Like anything else, when speaking of complicated situations, bringing religion into the mix only makes it harder to discuss.

What do you think?

3 Responses to “NSFW Weekends: Domestic Discipline (Guest Post by Daniel Harper)”

  1. Laura Poff March 30, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I can’t believe there aren’t any comments to this one yet! Maybe they are on facebook. I am actually really disturbed by this. I didn’t really know it existed in this fashion. If I had come across it other than in this post I wouldn’t have even connected it with S&M (which is what you were doing, right?). This by far disturbs me sooooooooooooo much more than S&M ever has. I actually think it probably serves a completely different purpose. I can’t put my thoughts exactly straight on the matter yet, though. I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

    • redshana March 31, 2011 at 12:51 am #

      Yes, there have been a few comments on Facebook. And yes, I was linking it to S&M. But yes, I was also saying that I think this is an unhealthy version of it. What I was hoping to articulate, and didn’t really well, was that in the S&M community there are resources that give people an idea of how to indulge in some desires while not going over the line into abuse. This situation, seems to give allowances for many situations that seem abusive.

      While I in no way, ever ever ever, think that abuse is okay. People can play around with spanking and such in healthy ways. But the healthy aspect comes from those two adults considering themselves as equals who are making the decision to do an activity together; it’s not healthy when one person actually believes they are “less than” another person. For any reason.

      • Poff April 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

        Yes! You have put into words exactly what I was feeling! Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

