Things I Found This Week:

18 Mar

Hey all! It’s been a crazy week. I hope everyone safely made it through St. Patrick’s Day!

Here’s my weekly list of stuff to go look at:

  1. Cute Boys With Cats, yup an entire Tumblr devoted to pics like this:
    Yeah, it’s pretty alright. Keep your eyes posted as I plan to submit my own cute boy with his cat someday soon 🙂
  2. In a more educational vein, this article called “Ask an Abortion Provider,” has made its rounds around the interwebs but is still totally worth looking at if you haven’t seen it yet. And yes, the title pretty much lets you know what you’re in for.
  3. You may not have seen the girl who posted a totally racist vlog about the on-campus Asians at UCLA, but you probably have heard of it. Now you don’t even have to watch it to find out what it was all about. Instead, watch this guy’s video where he shows and responds to her point by point.
  4. If you are a parent this essay called “Anthropocentrism: All of God’s Special Little Snowflakes” is a must read! Start teaching them young!
  5. Finally, my first glimpses of Oprah’s Poetry Issue… and it’s all about fashion! Of course. There’s more to it than that… Demi Moore tells us to read Tennyson. I’m holding my judgment until I finish looking through all of it.
  6. And this last minuted addition: wanna know who just signed on to play Katniss? Let the rest of cast speculations begin!

That’s it for me this week! A poem of mine will be appearing in this Saturday’s The New Verse News, so check it out (and thanks to them)!

4 Responses to “Things I Found This Week:”

  1. AliMali March 18, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    I think that girl is PERFECT for Katniss!!! I didn’t see Winter’s Bone, but the clips I have seen were awesome…plus, wasn’t she up for an Oscar? YAY!! I’m glad they went with someone with real acting talent and not just a pretty little teeny-bopper….I’m so excited! Hopefully they will also get the others right! (C’mon Hugh Laurie or Robert Downey Jr as Haymitch!!) 🙂

    • redshana March 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      Yeah, it makes me want to see her Oscar nominated role even more. I do hope they dye her hair though.

  2. Laura Poff March 19, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Hey Shana! Normally I don’t have enough to time actually check out all of your ‘What I found this week’ things, but I did this week and am glad I did because I absolutely loved reading the ‘Ask an abortion provider’ blog and the comments. The blog was very accessible and I think gave me a completely new perspective on the argument of abortion. My actual position hasn’t changed, but it was one of the most informative persuasive pieces I have read in ages. I was also surprised and heartened at the very low number of negative comments/trolls after the article because I was scared of them.

    Thanks for finding these things for me!

    • redshana March 19, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      I felt a lot of the same things in reading the article! Very accessible and educational. The more we talk about things (especially the taboo things) the easier it is to talk about them. And this conversation is very important if we’re to understand what is really going on and how to make the best decisions.

Leave a Reply

