What I’m Reading: Webcomics Edition

1 Mar

In the academic and creative writing worlds, I’ve been noticing a trend in the discussion of serialized texts. Why? Well, I think this has a lot to do with technology. Namely, I think it’s got to do a lot with the inter-webs and how we use it.

Just like turn-of-the-century serialized stories popped up in response to the amazing (at the time) speed of production in newspapers etc. authors are trying to take advantage of the read-at-all-times-but-not-too-much nature of how the average person uses the internet.

Having said that, my favorite serialized fiction is (and will probably always be) comics. All forms of them really, but today I was going to specifically point out a few of my favorite on-line comics, or webcomics.

  1. The ever-so-Indy Questionable Content
    This is a widely read comic that’s been around since 2003 so, if you’re another webcomic reader, this is probably nothing new to you. However, if you’ve never read a webcomic and want to understand what the draw is, this is a great place to start. Go to the website, and click on the button that says “first.”The first thing you’ll notice about the very first QC is that the art is VERY different. One of the most fun parts of reading this comic for years (I’ve been reading this comic longer than I’ve been dating my bf, it is by far one of my most serious long-term relationships) is the fact that you get to see writer/artist Jeph Jacques’ talent grow both writing and artist-ing… Okay, not a word, but still the development of stories and artistic style has been really engaging to watch. 

    Not only that… but who wouldn’t want to hang out with people who have robots for friends?

  2. The quirky hijinks of Hazel and her talking cactus aka Girls With SlingshotsThis comic has been around since 2004 and, while the art style has changed, I’ve always been surprised at just how consistent this comic has been from the start. Writer/artist Danielle Corsetto isn’t worried to take chances with her characters. It’s smart and funny, talks about all kinds of things from sexuality and dating to paying the bills and, of course, what happens when your apartment is haunted by the ghost of a creepy cat?OR (and I know you think this all the time…)

    Is it normal that my pet cactus has a mustache and talks to me?

    Right. Anyhow, it’s seriously worth a read.

And I think I’m going to leave it there for now. There’s more out there but these are my two favorites. What do you think? And, more importantly, what are YOU reading?

2 Responses to “What I’m Reading: Webcomics Edition”

  1. eeridge March 1, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I love VGcats. It combines my love of obscure references with my love of cats. But it’s not updated very often. Here’s a good one: http://www.vgcats.com/comics/?strip_id=299

    • redshana March 1, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      “I love Sisko”= hi-larious! I may have to add it to my list!

Leave a Reply

