Breast Milk Ice Cream, Gross or Genius?

28 Feb

By now, most of you have probably heard about this. There’s an ice cream shop overseas selling ice cream made out of “human breast milk.” (Why don’t we just call it human milk?)

Anyhow, if you haven’t, here’s the news story:

My question is this: why is this so weird/taboo?

Now, it goes without saying that it would be very weird for me, any adult individual really, or any non-related person, to try and get breast milk directly from its source. However, most people these days are already very detached from the processes it takes to get the foods they eat.

How many of us have ever milked a cow? Raised a pig to eat? Butchered a chicken?

I’m not saying that not anybody has, growing up I tried to milk a goat once but freaked out because I was really worried about hurting her. (I’m an official wuss at all ages.) But the real point I’m making is, with the breast milk ice cream, we get as close to the source as any other, why is this weirder?

I mean, genuinely: why?

This is not to say that my knee-jerk reaction wasn’t a negative one, because it was.  My second reaction was to try to understand why; I couldn’t put my finger on it exactly, what was it that I felt negatively about it?

Does it border too close to cannibalism for us? If it does, why don’t we consider babies to be cannibals?

(no kidding, this is the first image to show up when you google baby cannibal) Via

Finally, so we don’t end on a picture of a cannibal baby, no matter how cool a picture it is, here’s a cool infographic full of friendly boob facts care of onlineschools.org:

As always, looking forward to hearing your thoughts/comments on this issue!

 

2 Responses to “Breast Milk Ice Cream, Gross or Genius?”

  1. Laura Poff February 28, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    I don’t think I could ever be on board with drinking breast milk from someone else (or mine for that matter). I don’t know why exactly other than it just feels wrong. Maybe it’s something to do with it being a comedy gimmick now like in the restaurant scene in Grown Ups. I honestly haven’t been around many people who are breast feeding ever in my life nor have I given the idea of breast milk much thought so it’s very hard to pinpoint the source of my feelings toward it. I feel compelled to say that if I couldn’t go up to a friend who was nursing and ask for her milk then I wouldn’t want it from an unknown source either, but your point about being so far removed from our food sources anyway is a very valid counter-argument. Why can I eat meat from a cow (or hundreds of cows in the case of ground beef) whose origin I don’t know? Very interesting post, my friend. Also I loved the booby facts and have decided my boobs are in no way average in any respect.

  2. Riki February 28, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I suppose the only thing that concerns me about it is any diseases that might get passed on. I honestly don’t know what diseases would or wouldn’t get passed on through breast milk, but that’s my first reaction. Now, if that was screened out, I don’t see a problem with it. However, I am pretty liberal about breast feeding because my older sister is a home birth advocate, doula (mid-wife’s assistant) and la leche league member (breast feeding support group). I’ve also seen her and her group of friends nurse each other’s children if the child’s mother was otherwise occupied (in the bathroom, busy with their other child, etc.). So, like I said, I’m very liberal about it.
    Great blog, Shana!

Leave a Reply

