Science is fake a.k.a. Trust in Zack and Cody…

15 Feb

You guessed it, this may become a new category of posts! Those kooky kids over at Disney are at it again. This time with The Suite Life on Deck.

If you’re not familiar with the show, you’re probably familiar with the twin stars of the show, the Sprouse brothers. They were in Adam Sandler’s 1999 classic film Big Daddy. Yeah… classic.

Here’s a look at the boys over time… and now…

Anyhow, post-Sandler-movie career the boys were given their own show on the Disney Channel called The Suite Life of Zack and Cody; where they starred as one ne’er-do-well/stupid brother and one tragically smart/geeky/clumsy brother who live a charmed life in the hotel for which their mother is the lounge-singer. After a few years in a hotel, they needed to rid themselves of their mother and find some more love interests so they left for school at sea thus giving birth to The Suite Life on Deck (yes, these are considered two separate shows).

Starting at 8:45 in this episode, we see the boys and their friend Woody (who is a chubby dude which means, of course, he usually smells bad, has questionable hygiene, and talks about eating all the time) spending the night in front of a camera (a la Paranormal Activity) to catch a ghost.

And while I have to admit that Disney is great at parodying sometimes-adult content in their mainstream kids’ TV, that isn’t what most caught my attention. While I love ghost stories, just as I love many fantastical things, Disney uses this ghost story plot line as another excuse to make those of their characters who believe in science into bumbling idiots, who never seem to be able to prove the science they believe. Science-lovers become buffoons who we’re not meant to take seriously, while the know-nothings who follow their hearts and believe in those things you can’t prove end up being right.

In this case it’s ghosts, but it was the same with fairies and can be stretched our toward religion and who knows what else.

This is followed up by them creating their own version of Ghostbusters, again a great parody but not so great for the character’s they’re ripping on.

Start watching at 1:30 and you’ll see how Cody the inventor is really just a little kid playing dress up with vacuum cleaners. Which, you know, is cool. Except for the fact that these kids are almost 20 years old.

If we’re so sensitive to what kids are watching these days, why aren’t we sensitive to this?

5 Responses to “Science is fake a.k.a. Trust in Zack and Cody…”

  1. Frozen Hamster February 15, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Re: “…Disney uses this ghost story plot line as another excuse to make those of their characters who believe in science into bumbling idiots…”
    But, if Disney encouraged kids to do science, who would watch Disney? It is much cheaper to entertain kids with 2.5 brain cells. Plus, if they make them think, question religion and ghosts, they might revolt against their parents, and Disney loves being loved by parents. When kids grow up, Disney will hand them off to the society as well trained, not-much-brain using consumers… and so on, ad idiocracy.

    • redshana February 15, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

      I would agree except I grew up loving Disney, I think that’s why I feel so offended. Somehow I grew up on Disney and didn’t get brain-washed, which is good, but I don’t understand why the two must be linked. I like encouraging kids to be smart (which this show does sometimes but not in this episode). But I definitely understand this point of view. What did you grow up watching?

      • Frozen Hamster February 16, 2011 at 2:15 am #

        I think Disney changed a lot since we were kids. I remember movies about animals, and beautiful cartoons with reasonable characters and pretty good music (Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, 101 Dalmatians, The Little Mermaid…) I don’t remember crap like Hannah Montana and Jonas Brothers (or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention to stuff like that, I don’t know. It’s just my opinion)

        I wanted to say that after Pocahontas, the quality started decreasing and quantity increasing. Then I found this: http://www.disneymovieslist.com/disney-movies.asp Sure, technology became available, but you still need ideas (which reminds me: http://www.eatliver.com/img/2009/4175.jpg :D). When I see some of the crap they spit out, I wonder if there is some magic $ figure, which when reached, will make them care less about money and more about quality (no).

        Accidentally, I watched The Ring (South Park) last night, and I think it very much affected my opinion of Disney (by concisely stating most of the things I’ve been thinking about it over the past several years).

      • Frozen Hamster February 16, 2011 at 2:29 am #

        I think Disney changed a lot since we were kids. I remember movies about animals, and beautiful cartoons with reasonable characters and pretty good music (Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, 101 Dalmatians, The Little Mermaid…) I don’t remember crap like Hannah Montana and Jonas Brothers (or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention to stuff like that, I don’t know. This is just my opinion)

        About after Pocahontas, technology became more readily available, quality started decreasing and quantity increasing. Sure, you can make and produce, but you still need ideas (which reminds me: http://www.eatliver.com/img/2009/4175.jpg :D). When I see some of the crap they put their logo on, I wonder if there is some magic $ figure, which when reached, will make them care less about money and more about quality (no).

        Accidentally, I watched The Ring (South Park) last night, and I think it very much affected my opinion of Disney (by concisely stating most of the things I’ve been thinking about it over the past several years). I mean, seriously, if I had a kid, I’d rather let it enjoy 2 stupid dogs and pokemons, than jonas brothers.

        • redshana February 16, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

          Well, I still think it’s true that there’s some quality to be found within the quantity of crap that they put out. But I definitely agree, it’s harder to find. Especially harder when other networks, namely Nickelodeon, step up their game and put out shows like the animated original “Avatar: The Last Airbender,” that is amazing. Both in terms of storytelling and lots of other things like gender equality within their characters, have serious messages about war and peace that are palatable to kids, etc. So, Disney often ends up being the dopey alternative. But yeah, at least Disney was smart enough to buy Pixar. And PIxar is great… and totally beats Dreamworks.

Leave a Reply

