X-men are new again! Again.

11 Feb

So, I gotta admit. I’m excited about this movie. I think the casting is interesting and it seems like they’re really trying to build more complicated relationships in this movie. Albeit this is culled entirely from watching this trailer… so it could all be a big lie.

However, I’m excited to see a big action movie that is going to, at some point, boil down to a Prof. X and Magneto battle. And that might only be a battle of the wits. This idea feels strong because, unlike some *snkt*-centric storylines, these two characters have a philosophical battle before them. And juxtaposing these issues against wartime (as I’m assuming it will, with the uniforms and the submarines and such) is often a good pairing.

I’ll consider my fingers crossed for success. You?

4 Responses to “X-men are new again! Again.”

  1. Randy February 11, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I liked the trailer. I think Bryan Singer is stubborn and possibly inconsiderate… but I think Havok has been undeplayed, that the conception of Nightcrawler would be *fun* to see, and I’m glad everyone (maybe) realizes that Wolverine is overdone.

    I don’t expect a “smart” movie out of this, but instead high mindless action, with less cornballer moments like in the past movies, which I think the franchise needs. That’s what I want, anyway.

    I don’t expect to be impressed by the overall plot. Cynically, I would say that we know what’s going to happen (Magneto and X part ways), and maybe the ride will be interesting, but so what? What else? I’m hoping there will be more to it than that, and there may be. We’ll see.

    P.S. I like nerding in the morning.

    • redshana February 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      I totally get what you’re saying but there’s a chance here of bringing in some thought to this plot, to make it a little bit more than just another action movie. And I totally agree that the fact that Wolverine isn’t in it might be a saving grace. Wolverine is beyond overdone at this point, besides, he had his own movie series all to himself.

      And while I don’t expect it to be “smart” I hope that maybe aspects of it will be. Anything better than the other ones, you know? Then again, I’m well known to be overly optimistic about these things.

      p.s. I like nerding all the time!

  2. eileen February 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    The angle puts me in mind of the most recent Star Trek movie — the “let’s do a movie with young actors about the before-story” angle. Could be interesting.

    • redshana February 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      It would feel hokier to me except that the comics also recently did this. Then again, I really like the Star Trek movie too. So…

Leave a Reply

