What this blog is and why you should read it…

31 Jan

Hello there!

If you’ve shown up here there’s a high chance that you know me and that’s reason enough for you to read my blog. In fact, you may have even voted on the name of the blog and are a little pissed that you didn’t win. It’s okay, I’ll give you a moment…

(If you made that, please comment and I’ll give credit… otherwise, isn’t it a cute hissy-fit?)

Alright now, so what is this blog and why did I choose this silly name? Well, here are a few answers.

  1. Why am I writing this? This here is a place for me to rant about all the things I’ve always wanted to rant about in a semi-academic way. What is semi-academic? That means I’ve got a lot of stuff I like to rant about and I like to try to be smart while doing it, even if I don’t always feel like writing an essay.
  2. Why this name? Other than it being a clever twist on the world of art movies and comics, which I like and thank my friend Marianne for creating it, it also reminds me of one of my favorite fictional characters: Deadpool.Deadpool talks in little yellow boxes, imagine me talking in little red speech ballons, meaning? Deadpool lets his internal monologue be wacky, silly, fun, sometimes smart, but always honest. That’s what I hope to have here: a peak into my internal monologue, though cleaned up a bit.
  3. Why should you read it? Because I’m hoping it’ll be fun and, more important than that, I want to hear what you have to say! The most important thing about school/academia/art, from local to global levels is that it be a conversation, a dialogue… and gosh golly gee, I like to talk a lot but it’s more fun when I have someone talk back!

So, let me know what you think! Comment, subscribe, tell others about it! See you next time!

p.s. For all of you who voted for the other team, keep your eyes open as there may be something brewing on the horizon… yay, mixed metaphor!

2 Responses to “What this blog is and why you should read it…”

  1. eileen February 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    this was the name I voted for! no hissy fit necessary!

  2. Nikki February 2, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Is that hissy fit from Sleeping Beauty? You may not remember, but Aurora is my favorite Disney Princess! I vote for anything that includes cute hissy fits!

Leave a Reply

